Friendship: Am I Becoming a Jesus Snob?

Image

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” – Ecclesiastes 4: 9-12

 

So, about two weeks ago, I rededicated my life to servitude for the Lord.  It was an all-encompassing decision. It had been a little while. I generally show hesitation to go up to the altar. I used to always get the sense that other people in church figured I was seeking repentance for something I may have done the night before, usually alluding to one of the big no-no’s expressed routinely about fornication and drinking.  To save myself from any sort of prejudice, I stay in my seat.  After all, it’s private – between me and God.

Yet, there is the rare occasion that a player does change his game in the ninth inning, and it is done in an outward display for all to see.  I think those moments are genuine, and I had that moment a couple weeks ago. Nothing else mattered.  No one else mattered.  The stirring in my heart finally came.  Bishop said something that told me he was no longer speaking; rather it was the Holy Spirit within him.  I think it was meant for me. I went up there, and someone prayed with me. I received encouragement and affection from my fellow brothers and sisters (we are really big on hugging at my church). I think I understand now the reason privacy between oneself and God in this context didn’t seem to fit comfortably.

It wasn’t the first time I had gone to the altar, but it was the first time I had outwardly rededicated myself. Even in my reverting to Christ last year, I hadn’t openly confessed my dedication to him.

It’s ironic and goes against principle for me to refer to anyone as a ‘veteran’ Christian, because we are always learning, ever evolving as we grow in grace.  But for the sake of argument, the more seasoned Christian may not deem this event a big deal. This time, though, it was, because I understood the commitment I was about to make.

You see, going to the altar before an entire congregation isn’t to validate anyone – not the preacher, the people or anything else. It can be, however, a public display of affection toward God.

Aside: How offensive would it be if your spouse asked you to keep your commitment to them a secret?  Doesn’t it mean more to make that public statement?  In the same way, we need to be comfortable with openly declaring our love and commitment to God.

PDA for God, in my opinion, means I’m steadfast in my desire for Him and that I am willing to be held accountable by Him and other believers in my commitment to Him.  It means I am more thoughtful about my actions (as well as my inactions). Change my ways, embrace discipline.  I consider mercy and the difference between that, and enabling others in sin.  It is less of a struggle, because now everybody knows what I am about, and they will either distance themselves or support it.

The point is, I’m seeing everything with a new set of eyes.  Refreshing as it may be, this often requires new friends. You know the ones: The Real Christian Friends.

That has become the most difficult part for me. When I first arrived on this island, I met some pretty extraordinary people who were enthusiastic about God.  We weren’t perfect, but it was our common denominator, and we were better together than we could be apart.  Most of them have now moved back to the United States.  And now, being in love with God feels lonely.  In whom can I confide about God? Sure, it’s cool that people are on their best behavior around me, and super polite. But the curiosity, the honest pursuit – it just isn’t there.  I was blessed to fall into a crew, but that blessing appears to be the anomaly around here.

I need a friend, y’all.  I feel like I’m auditioning people to run with me toward God, and coming up short.  A church leader who knows me well enough kept it one hundred.  He told me I can’t be friends with everyone, and not all Christians are about that pursuit.  I told him that I feel like a Jesus Snob because I’m discovering I no longer want to hold on to many of my relationships. They feel kind of dead without God now. He made everyone raise their hands if they have only a few friends. Just about everyone raised their hands. He says it happens this way because you cannot be everything to everybody.  He also expressed that the friendship I desire is something that one normally finds in a spouse.

Well, I don’t have one of those, bible study was over, and I still had questions.  So I went home, and began to look for friendships in the bible. How important is friendship as a devoted servant of God? Is this going to be my life? Do I need to accept that no one is going to jump on the Jesus train with me, with the same intensity, if not greater, because I’m not married to them? Should I just pick a friend already?

I found my answer, and was surprised that I hadn’t noticed it before. In understanding friendship, one needs to look no further than David and Jonathan (1 Samuel 18-20).

Our beloved David.  David was doing big things, and had many admirers. So many, in fact, that Saul tried tirelessly to kill him for taking his shine. Despite all of the fans, even David needed someone there to see beyond his esteemed reputation. He found that in Jonathan, who interceded on his behalf, constantly.  Jonathan didn’t have to do it. I mean, it could have gotten complicated very quickly, since Saul was his father. He had his own problems with his dad. I mean the guy threatened to kill him, because he ate when the soldiers were instructed to starve until further notice (the honey incident: 1 Samuel 14:24-45). Saul didn’t play any games! Not even with his son.

Jonathan is my boy in these chapters. He tells his dad to calm down and be grateful for David’s heroism (1 Samuel 19: 4-6). Then he directly tells David that he has his back in Chapter 20. He even hatched a plan to help David escape Saul’s relentless harassment in attempt to kill him. At some point, Saul even tries to appeal to Jonathan’s presumed self-interests by saying that as long as David is alive, he will not ever sit on the throne.  If Jonathan cared about that, he didn’t show it (1 Samuel 20: 30-34). And what did he say to David when they parted?

“…Go in peace, for we have sworn friendship with each other in the name of the Lord, saying, ‘The Lord is witness between you and me, and between your descendants and my descendants forever.’” (1 Samuel 20:42).

My boy was loyal. And he loved God. His arguments always included praises given to David for fighting and winning on God’s behalf.  He had a circumspect point of view about the whole thing, and that, coupled with loyalty, motivated his courage to encourage his friend. I’d venture to say the course of history would have changed completely had it not been for Jonathan’s friendship to David. As we know, Jesus comes as a descendant of David. Imagine that!

Maybe I’m not a Jesus Snob. Maybe I simply desire the kind of friendship and shared intensity for God that David and Jonathan had. For all I know, someone could be seeking the same in me right now.  A friend who is outwardly affectionate toward and motivated by God to serve. These friendships are authentic and necessary, put together by God.  Truthfully, it would make more sense if Jonathan and David were mortal enemies. But, I get it. God is ironic and can do anything, even in our relationships. I look forward to truly having that. As the bible goes to show, even the devoted need a ride or die friend. Just one can make all the difference.

submitted by: amw

This entry was posted in Christianity, God, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment